top of page

Veterans For Peace

Chapter 93 Honorary Members


Veterans For Peace Chapter 93 honors the following individuals with honorary membership in the Chapter as these local individuals have worked over the years diligently for peace and justice on a local level.


Chris Buhalis - 2008

Quite simply Chris is not only a troubadour for peace, but over the years has organized concerts for area peace groups. For our Veterans For Peace Chapter, Chris has every year organized and promoted our annual John Lennon Birthday concert (to support peace scholarships).


Rebecca Kanner - 2014

Longtime activist with the Interfaith Council For Peace & Justice, Rebecca served six months in an Illinois prison for trespassing onto Fort Benning, Georgia in November 2000 at the annual rally to close the U.S. Army School Of The America’s



Lynn Meadows - 2013

Long-time area peace activist, and Veterans For Peace supporter Lynn Meadows died after a short illness on March 9, 2013. After her spouse’s death in 2006, Lynn devoted the remainder of her life to making the world a better place for the things she treasured most. 


She participated in weekly peace vigils in both Ann Arbor and Chelsea and was a vocal participant in various community and national demonstrations. She was a volunteer for the Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice (ICPJ), where she was co-secretary on the Steering Committee. In 2006, she received the Michigan Gray Panthers Award for Activism. Lynn was a member of the diversity advocacy group "One World One Family," the Chelsea CANOPAS and a beloved member of the "Threshold Choir" which sings to patients at area hospices


Locally, to commemorate Lynn Meadows life, our Veterans For Peace Chapter purchased a Peace Pole and dedicated it in honor of her on Mothers Day, May 12, 2013 at the Michigan Friends Center just northwest of Chelsea.

Yoko Ono  - 2014

A number of years ago, when VFP Chapter 93 was considering setting up a Peace Scholarship, and having a benefit concert on John Lennon's birthday (October 9th) to fund the Scholarship, a letter was sent to Yoko asking if there was any problem with this idea. A few weeks later a check came to the Chapter from Yoko for $10,000 as "seed money" for the Scholarship!

Interfaith Council For Peace & Justice - 2015

Mary Anne Peronne - 2016 

Mary Anne is another long-term, extremely dedicated local peace activist on Central American issues with the Intermaith Council For Peace & Justice Latin America Task Force - and the School of the Americas Watch - Mary Anne was presented with the 2016 VFP 93 Honorary Membership at the Chapter's annual May Mothers Day Peace Pole dedication and peace ceremony at the Ann Arbor Episcopal Church of the Incarnation.


Fred Pearson - 2017 

Chuck Warpehoski - 2018

Phil Larson 

Matt Watroba - 2021 

bottom of page